LARP in Progress

Cogitations anthropo-GNistes

NAIVE | 2019-08-xx

Last updated: 2020-08-19

NAIVE is an erotic art game that aims to question our representations of sexuality, as well as create a virtual collaborative library of these representations by offering players to record game sessions. It exists as a two-player larp or as a four to twelve freeform larp. The freeform version was successfully played online using Discord.

You're interested about NAIVE? Consider supporting me on Liberapay or make a one-time donation on PayPal :) !

Table of contents

NAIVE: the two-player game

NAIVE is a short, introspective freeform role-playing game for two players with no game master. It is expected to last around two hours, including a few workshops and a debriefing. No costumes or props are needed. A device on which to play a piece of music used as a transition in and out of game is needed. Optional material includes a recording device, in case the participants would be willing to upload their session on the dedicated platform.

Concept

A person volunteers for a program to train an android’s AI. During their first session, the android asks the volunteer about sex. In this game, the android’s candidness serves to question the player’s perception of sexuality: it is a journey through representations of sex, desire, and the human.

Although it is mainly a dialogue, sex might be performed. Ars amandi would then be used as a mechanic.

Download Concept here

Workshops

The volunteer character is built through a hot seat, monitored by the android player: it helps establishing a succinct identity for the character, but mostly focuses on which state of mind they are in at the beginning of the game. A workshop, monitored by the volunteer player, is designed to help the android player act and talk the most neutrally as possible: it also aims at creating a feeling of “uncanny valley”, a feeling of uneasiness that occurs when a robot look disturbingly like a human, for the volunteer player to interact with the android player. The game design also encourages both participants to share their feelings and expectations prior to the game, as part of the intention to foster respectful discussions about sexuality.

Download Workshops here

The AI Protocol

A word cloud is provided based on actual game sessions (developed through beta-testing, and later by implementing elements from recordings uploaded on the platform) to help direct the android’s questions. The protocol is by no means binding: it is merely here to provide guidelines or ideas to help the android player. It aims to favor associations of idea and support a naive approach, to try to cancel out the android player’s own preconceptions.

The android’s goal is to learn what sexuality is to human beings: ultimately, its assimilation of human features could lead it to question whether it can, itself, have sex. This questioning broadens the perspective of the game, diving into the perceived limits of the notion of humanity.

Download Protocol here

The Mosaic

The Internet Archive is used to allow those who played it to upload the recordings of their sessions. The aim is to create a virtual library on which diverse visions about sexuality can be found, in the form of a myriad of subjective conceptions. It contributes to sex education and a positive approach to sexuality by deconstructing prevailing discourses.

NAIVE: the freeform

This freeform larp for four to twelve players stages a training program of advanced artificial intelligence, represented by androids (players). Volunteers, having agreed to participate in the program, are asked - without having prepared for it - by the android facing them what sex is. After twenty to thirty minutes (depending on the number of participants), the session ends and the volunteer goes to the next android. The android starts the interview with the next person, keeping in mind what he learned with its previous interlocutor.

In this game, the naivety of the android is used to question the perceptions that the player-volonteer has of sexuality: it is a journey through representations of sex, desire, and humanity.

Note about androids

The role of android, although it is no less interesting than that of volunteer, is a "play-to-lift" role, playing to support and encourage. Thus, it is a predominantly intellectual game, which provides little space for emotional or introspective play.

Structure

NAIVE is a three-to-four hour freeform, including a few workshops and a debriefing. A GM-character is in charge of the game structure (timing, launch the start/end music, etc.).

There are two scenarios for people who play volunteers:

  • They received their character in advance, with directions for stepping into their head and shoes. An effort in costuming is asked, but it is not demanding.
  • They draw their character at random, based on gender, sexual orientation, spirituality, family situation and other specificities. The age of the character and their name are left to their discretion.

Players who play androids must familiarize themselves beforehand with the Protocol (common with the two-player version of the GN) which will help them to direct their questions. They are plainly dressed in a light color (no black, navy blue, brown). They can, if they wish, wear a simple mask (i.e. white cardboard mask) or sunglasses to reinforce the artificial side.

To run it, you need:

  • A number of tables and chairs appropriate to the number of participants (one table and two chairs per pair), preferably in a room large enough to be able to leave space between them.
  • If available, a second, smaller room, which will serve as a rest room for volunteers.
  • Printed Protocols in case the players forgot to bring theirs.
  • In the event that the characters are drawn at random at the start of the game, the cards printed and cut out.
  • Medical forms” to be filled by each volunteer.
  • For each table, a water pitcher, glasses, and something to take notes for the android.
  • A white blouse for the GM.
  • Name-tags with the name of the character and that of the player.
  • A device with speakers for playing the start and end sound.

Summary of game documents (download

LARP in Progress

Cogitations anthropo-GNistes

NAIVE | 2019-08-xx

NAIVE est un projet ludique et artistique qui vise à questionner nos représentations de la sexualité et à mettre à disposition une bibliothèque virtuelle de ces représentations, en proposant aux participant·e·s d'enregistrer les sessions de jeu et de les publier pour créer la Mosaïque. Il a d'abord été réalisé pour un appel à contributions financé par la fondation américaine Effing dédiée à une sexualité positive, mais n'a pas été retenu. Grâce à cela, il existe cependant en français et en anglais. NAIVE a été testé pour la première fois à LaboGN 2019.

NAIVE vous intéresse ? Songez à me soutenir sur Liberapay ou à faire un don sur PayPal :) !

Sommaire de cette page

Une personne de dos jouant NAIVE

NAIVE : le jeu pour deux joueur·se·s

NAIVE est un jeu de rôle court de type freeform pour deux joueuses. Il dure environ deux heures, incluant quelques ateliers et un debriefing. Il ne requiert pas de costumes ou d’accessoires particuliers, sinon un appareil sur lequel jouer un morceau de musique qui agit comme sas d’entrée et de sortir du jeu. De façon optionnelle, un dictaphone peut être utilisé pour enregistrer la partie si les participantes sont d’accord pour partager leur expérience sur la plateforme dédiée.

Concept

Une étudiante se porte volontaire dans un programme destiné à entraîner l’intelligence artificielle d’un androïde. Durant la première session, l’androïde interroge l’étudiante sur ce qu’est le sexe. Dans ce jeu, la naïveté de l’androïde sert à questionner les perceptions que la joueuse-étudiante a de la sexualité : c’est un voyage à travers des représentations du sexe, du désir, et de l’humain.

En savoir plus : Télécharger le Concept

Ateliers

Le personnage est construit durant un hot seat, guidé par la joueuse-androïde : cet atelier aide à établir une identité succincte pour le personnage, mais se concentre essentiellement sur l’état d’esprit dans lequel le personnage se trouve au début du jeu. L’atelier suivant, mené par la joueuse-étudiante, est destiné à aider la joueuse-androïde à agir et parler de la façon la plus neutre possible : cela permettra aussi d’aider à établir un sentiment de « vallée de l’étrange », un sentiment de malaise qui advient quand on se trouve face à un robot qui se rapproche trop de l’humain, pour la joueuse-étudiante dans ses interactions avec l’androïde. Le design encourage également les deux participantes à partager leurs impressions et attentes avant le jeu, en conformité à l’intention globale de faciliter la tenue de discussions ouvertes et respectueuses autour de la sexualité.

En savoir plus : Télécharger les Ateliers

Le Protocole

Un nuage de mots, développé au cours de bêta-tests et augmenté au fil des sessions partagées, est fourni afin d’aider la joueuse-androïde à poser des questions. Le protocole n’est en aucun cas destiné à être suivi à la lettre : il permet simplement de donner des pistes ou des idées pour soutenir la joueuse-androïde. Il vise à susciter des associations d’idées et encourager une approche naïve, essayant de contrecarrer les propres préjugés de la joueuse-androïde.

Le but de l’androïde est d’apprendre ce qu’est la sexualité pour les êtres humains : ainsi, son assimilation de traits humains pourrait le mener à se demander s’il peut, lui-même, prendre part à des activités sexuelles. Cette interrogation permet d’élargir la perspective du jeu, en s’intéressant aux limites perçues de la notion d’humanité.

En savoir plus : Télécharger le Protocole

La Mosaïque

L’Internet Archive est utilisée pour permettre aux joueuses de mettre en ligne les enregistrements de leurs sessions. Le but est de créer une bibliothèque virtuelle présentant des visions diverses de la sexualité, sous forme d’une myriade de conceptions subjectives. La Mosaïque vise à contribuer à l’éducation à la sexualité et à une approche positive du sexe en déconstruisant les discours dominants.

En savoir plus : Télécharger la Mosaïque

Le Huis-Clos

Mise à jour : 2020-05-12

Inscriptions en cours pour une session à Toulouse le 31 mai 2020 : voir l'événement Facebook.

Il existe une version huis-clos, conçue pour durer quatre heures environ, incluant quelques ateliers et un debriefing. Un personnage-orga se charge de gérer la structure du jeu (chronomètre, lancer la musique de start, etc.).

Il existe deux cas de figure pour les joueur·se·s qui incarnent des volontaires :

  • Iels ont reçu leur personnage à l’avance, avec des indications pour se mettre dans leur tête et leur peau. Un effort de costume est demandé, mais il n’est pas exigeant.
  • Iels piochent leur personnage au hasard, sur la base d’un genre, d’une orientation sexuelle, d’une spiritualité, d’une situation familiale et de particularités. L’âge du personnage et son nom est laissé à leur appréciation.

Les joueur·se·s qui incarnent des androïdes doivent se familiariser en amont avec le Protocole (commun avec la version à deux joueur·se·s du GN) qui les aidera à diriger leurs questions. Iels sont uniformément vêtu·e·s d’une couleur claire (pas de noir, de bleu marine, de brun). Iels peuvent, s’iels le souhaitent, porter un masque uni (type masque en carton blanc) ou des lunettes de soleil pour renforcer le côté artificiel.

Pour l’organiser, il faut :

  • Un nombre de tables et de chaises approprié au nombre de participant·e·s (une table et deux chaises par paire), de préférence dans une salle assez grande pour pouvoir laisser de la place entre elles.
  • Si disponible, une deuxième salle, plus petite, qui fera office de salle de repos pour les volontaires.
  • Des Protocoles imprimés en cas d’oubli de la part des joueur·se·s.
  • Dans le cas où les personnages seraient piochés au hasard au début du jeu, les cartes imprimées et découpées.
  • Des « fiches de renseignements » que chaque volontaire apporte avec iel.
  • Par table, une carafe d’eau et des gobelets.
  • Une blouse blanche pour l’orga.
  • Des badges portant le nom du personnage et ce lui du/de la joueur·se.
  • Un appareil avec enceintes pour jouer le son de début de session et le son de fin.

En savoir plus : Télécharger le Huis-Clos